Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from May, 2017

My Review of The Last Piece of My Heart by Paige Toon

Welcome to my review of The Last Pieceof My Heart by Paige Toon.What They Say:When life feels like a puzzle, sometimes it's the small pieces that make up the bigger picture... Join Bridget on a journey to put her world back together.A successful travel journalist, Bridgethas ambitions to turn her quirky relationship blog about the missing pieces of her heart into a book. But after a spate of rejections from publishers, she accepts an alternative proposition.Nicole Dupré died leaving behind a bestselling novel and an incomplete sequel. Tasked with finishing the book, Bridget is thankful to have her foot in the publishing door, even if it means relocating to Cornwall for the summer and answering to Nicole's grieving husband,Charlie...What I Say:The Last Piece of My Heart is, what I would call, a perfect read. It's charming, funny, warm and gripping. I was kept guessing the outcome until the very end, which I loved!Paige has a wonderful way of making you feel like you are pro…

Book Review - Forever Geek by Holly Smale

Welcome to my review of Geek Girl Book 6 - Forever Geek by Holly Smale.What They Say:My name is Harriet Manners and I’ll be a geek forever…Harriet Manners knows almost every fact there is.Modelling isn’t a sure-fire route to popularity. Neither is making endless lists. The people you love don’t expect you to transform into someone else. Statistically, you are more likely to not meet your Australian ex-boyfriend in Australia than bump into him there.So on the trip of a lifetime Down Under Harriet’s to-do lists are gone and it’s Nat’s time to shine! Yet with nearly-not-quite-boyfriend Jasper back home, Harriet’s completely unprepared to see supermodel ex Nick. Is the fashion world about to turn ugly for GEEK GIRL?It’s time for Harriet to face the future. Time to work out where her heart lies. To learn how to let go…What I Say:Forever Geek is a book I've been dreading and desperate to read in equal measure. I have been a part of Harriet's group for years now and I didn't want…

Blog Tour Stop - The Finding of Martha Lost by Caroline Wallace

This is quite possibly the BEST blog tour I've ever been on! Caroline is one of my favourite authors and one of the most amazing women I have ever known! This means the world to her and I am thrilled to be part of it!! WELCOME TO MY STOP ON THE BLOG TOUR FOR:THE FINDING OF MARTHA LOST BY CAROLINE WALLACE!!!!! What They Say:
Martha is lost. She's been lost since she was a baby, abandoned in a suitcase on the train from Paris. Ever since, she's waited in station lost property for someone to claim her. It's been sixteen years, but she's still hopeful. In the meantime, there are mysteries to solve: secret tunnels under the station, a suitcase that may have belonged to the Beatles, the roman soldier who appears at the same time every day with his packed lunch. Not to mention the stuffed monkey that someone keeps misplacing. But there is one mystery Martha cannot solve. And now the authorities have found out about the girl in lost property. Time is running out - if Martha…

Blog Tour Stop with Extract - Just For The Holidays by Sue Moorcroft

Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for Just for the Holidays by Sue Moorcroft!How pretty is this cover? So gorgeous and summery! PUBLISHES IN EBOOK & PAPERBACK: 18TH MAYWhat They Say: In theory, nothing could be better than a summer spent basking in the French sun. That is, until you add in three teenagers, two love interests, one divorcing couple, and a very unexpected pregnancy.

Admittedly, this isn’t exactly the relaxing holiday Leah Beaumont was hoping for – but it’s the one she’s got. With her sister Michele’s family falling apart at the seams, it’s up to Leah to pick up the pieces and try to hold them all together.

But with a handsome helicopter pilot staying next door, Leah can’t help but think she might have a few distractions of her own to deal with…

A glorious summer read, for you to devour in one sitting - perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley. I'm so excited to have this extract on my blog today! I can't wait to read the rest of this …

Blog Tour Stop with Extract - The Obsession by Amanda Robson

Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for Obsession by Amanda Robson Publishes on 4th May in eBook and 1st June in paperback. It’s already infected the minds of its readers, and it’s coming after you, too… “Compelling and thoroughly addictive” KATERINA DIAMOND “Thrilling, unputdownable – I was obsessed by this book” BA PARIS A taut thriller full of page-turning suspense” EMMA FLINT “Amanda Robson expertly injects menace into the domestic … a dark and disturbing journey” HOLLY SEDDON A compelling psychosexual thriller, with some very dark undertones” PAUL FINCH What They Say: One evening, a wife asks her husband a question: who else would you go for, if you could?

It is a simple question – a little game – that will destroy her life.

Carly and Rob are a perfect couple. They share happy lives with their children and their close friends Craig and Jenny. They’re lucky. But beneath the surface, no relationship is simple: can another woman’s husband and another man’s wife ever just be good friends?

Just Be Kind...

I had a friend respond to my Mental Health and Me blog post with this comment and I wanted to share it with you all because it really touched me."Trish this is so lovely and so very very brave of you. I plucked up the courage to do something similar recently and I have been knocked down by some people and so I deleted the posts. Sometimes it helps just putting things down right so why can others not see that? I don't want to talk to a support worker, I want to talk to my family and friends. I know I should delete the texts they sent me but I can't right now. I am hurting too much. Trying not to clam up again here. Just want to show people what it is like to be me. is that so wrong? Thank goodness for four legged friends, oh no wait, I am even damaging him with my love and being over protective. The anger is coming out now! 😥😡😤"It hurt to read this as I care deeply for this woman. She jas been through such a hard time recently and needs support. Sadly, she hasn'…

Mental Health and Me

Hello there!

I realise it has been ages since I wrote a non-book related post. There has been lots going on,  lots I could have told you, but none of it seemed blog-worthy.

As you may know, it's Mental Health Awareness Week. That is something which was only really brought to my attention a year ago when my own struggle became clear. I'm not going to go into the way it all started, most of you probably know from my social media presence this time last year. But now, one year on, I am ready to talk openly and fully about my journey with Depression and Anxiety.

I was first diagnosed with General Anxiety Disorder 12 months ago this week. That was the first time I'd ever really heard of it and it scared me. I was newly single, seeking medical care for these issues for the first time in 13 years. I had just read Mad Girl by Bryony Gordon and it awoke something in me. I was put on Propanalol to help with the physical symptoms of the anxiety and, a year ago yesterday, I had my fi…

Blog Tour Stop - Catch Me If You Cannes by Lisa Dickenson

Welcome to my stop on the Catch Me If You Cannes blog tour! I'm so excited for the world to read this little gem!

Published 4th May 2017
Paperback Original | £8.99


What They Say:
Romantic, funny and full of Cannes film festival magic, Catch Me If You Cannes is the story of two friends, a few white lies and one very sticky situation . . . Perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Paige Toon and Mhairi McFarlane.


Jess has decided it's time to get out of her comfort zone and live a little. So when her best friend Bryony, a journalist on a gossip magazine, is sent to cover the Cannes Film Festival, Jess decides to seize the day and go along for the ride. Two weeks of sun, glamour and exclusive entry into celeb-filled parties is just the kind of adventure Jess needs.
Reality soon bites though when Jess and Bryony find they're staying in a dingy hotel far away from all the action and Bryony's expenses budget barely covers a glass of local wine. Undeterred, the two women are…

Blog Tour Stop - The Woman Who Met Her Match by Fiona Gibson

Welcome to my Blog Tour Stop for The Woman Who Met Her Match by Fiona Gibson!!I'm very excited as I love Fiona's books and she's such a lovely lady! EBOOK: 13TH APRIL PAPERBACK: 20TH APRIL What They Say: The laugh-out-loud Sunday Times bestseller is back - and funnier than ever! Perfect for fans of Outnumbered and Carole Matthews, Fiona writes about life as it really is. After yet another disaster, Lorrie is calling time on online dating. She might be single in her forties, but she’s got a good job, wonderful children and she’s happy. This, Lorrie decides, is going to have to be enough.

That is, until she receives a very unexpected request from France. Antoine Rousseau, who had once turned a lonely French exchange trip into a summer of romance, wants to see her – after thirty years.

But Lorrie is a responsible woman. She can’t exactly run off to Nice with the man who broke her teenage heart . . . can she?

A wonderfully funny novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Joanna Bolou…